Please Help!!!

PearlGearl

Hi everyone! I'm totally new to all of this and I needed some help. I have recently come into about 500 or so (I haven't counted yet) natural pearls. I know nothing about pearls or their value or anything. My Grandfather was a jeweler and he gave me a bunch before he died. I got a lot of pieces made that I will keep forever but for the rest of them, I really don't have any need for a few hundred loose pearls. I know they are all natural because he told me those were the only kind he got. They range in size from very tiny to about the size of a dime. They also range in color from pure white to pink. I don't think any of them are perfectly round. I am looking to sell them and I really don't have a clue in the world as to how much they are worth. I know it is hard to give me an answer based on just a rough description but any estimate would be helpful. I'm really not trying to get cheated. I also am having a hard time finding anyone who will buy them. Every place I have looked into only buys wholesale pearls, no one will buy a few hundred from me. Any suggestions? I hope someone can help me!!!

Thanks a million!

Hi there PearlGearl,

Can you put up a close up photo of your pearls, or just some of them? If you do have natural pearls, as opposed to cultured pearls, they could indeed be quite valuable. You might want to take them to a pearl appraiser, not just a jewelry appraiser, as the latter generally knows little about pearls.

Sharon Wakefield of Boise Idaho, is an pearl appraiser and broker. She is trusted by many who post here. Here is her contact info:
208-362-3938 email: sharon@gem-science.com. she does travel, so if you don't connect with her right away, don't give up!

There may be some better options for you depending on what part of the country you are in, such as GIA labs, etc. Do you feel comfortable telling us approx where you are?