Etsy seller being scammed by supplier?

laurenb

I don't usually comment on people's pearl listings, but I encountered someone marketing a couple of strands rather earnestly on the etsy forums. I wouldn't be posting this except for the tone of the response I received-- she asked if I thought the listing should be changed/what to do.

I told the seller I thought she had large freshwaters and she sent a friendly reply saying the supplier called these "baby South Seas." Also said these seemed way heavier/more solid than the freshwaters she uses, which sounds a little odd. She asked if I was an expert, and I said no, but I knew where a few dozen experts hang out...

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=21216080
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=21206759

I told this person to come on over, but there's the whole "are you a pearl-loving human" registration process, so I thought I'd go ahead and post 'em.

Last edited:
I agree they are freshwaters, but I think if she wasn't sure she should not have advertised as "definitely not freshwaters" and "thick nacre". How much thicker can nacre get in full-nacred freshwaters? And the fact she's selling sub-$100 for strands she thinks retail at $2500. Could be the supplier, but something just doesn't add up in the listings.

Yeah, it's weird. She said the supplier insists they aren't freshwaters.

In another Etsy post, she linked to a personal blog. Really pretty girl probably about my age, career in communications, sells a few other sorts of things online. Doesn't look like a hardened pearl misrepresenter at all.

Hope she turns up here-- Singapore seems like it would be a great home base from which to buy and sell pearls. :D

Last edited: