Akoya , saltwater or no??

twinsmummy20

I know you all get tons of these so I'm sorry!! But I'm very new to pearls and trying to learn all I can! I want to make jewelry for family and friends and I am buying a pearl drill to do everything myself .... I found a seller on Etsy that I drilled about fresh water came saltwater and she said these pearls are rounder than freshwater and started with a bead implanted which indicated saltwater also... I realize Akoya do not naturally come in darks and such so anything I get otherwise is dyed. I'm okay with that... but I want to make sure what I got is indeed saltwater like I am being told. They are real... gritty to teeth... cold even in the sun, slight imperfections and coloring difference... I can see myself in this guy...I feel like when I hold him up to the light I can see a "bead" inside... something in the center... I am not asking if this is a cheap pearl or Chinese or Japanese or it's worth because that is honestly neither here nor there to me. I am just wondering if this is indeed a saltwater or fresh water. I purchased five and they are all very round with slight differences. I hope the pictures help. Thanks for your help and I plan on sticking around! And posting another thread cause it's unrelated here!

Attachments

• IMG_4073.jpg
    IMG_4073.jpg
    4.2 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_4071.jpg
    IMG_4071.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 34
There are now round freshwater pearls, and some have high luster, so I can't tell you from looking at your photos whether that pearl is freshwater or saltwater.

I will say that a lot of vendors (especially Chinese vendors) sell freshwater pearls while calling them akoya, Tahitian, and South Sea. Does this vendor also sell freshwater pearls that are labeled freshwaters? Do they have an questionable listings? A vendor who will lie on one listing is likely doing so on other listings too.

If you care to tell us who the vendor is, we can have a look.