Paying for jewellery setting using paypal

EileenK

I normally get an invoice from my jeweller via Paypal and I am happy to make payment that way.

However, I have another jeweller who has simply asked me to send money via Paypal. I have just returned this evening and was about to do this again (I have used this jeweller's services before and he has lived up to the orders I placed, so no complaints there) when I read that in terms of protection, I have very little, in fact, none.

This new purchase is for a pearl to be set into a ring.

I am wondering if others pay via Paypal (you are protected some) or send money via Paypal (zero protection should the transaction go wrong) and perhaps you have further insight into this before I decide what to do.

It would be interesting to hear from the seller's point of view.

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

I'm not a seller but I have some experience with sending (and receiving) money with PayPal.

The seller could send you an invoice through PayPal. This is the most straightforward way, IMO.

If the seller asks you to initiate the payment, you should know that there are 2 ways to send money with PayPal. One way carries protection; the other does not.

1. You can send money to "friends and family" . The recipient pays no fee to receive the funds, but there is no buyer protection for the sender, since this method is not supposed to be used for purchases. This is what I'd use to make donations, or to send money to a friend in need, or a family member, or to transfer funds to my husband's PayPal account for any reason. But not to buy anything.