Opinions please (exotics, part one)

B

boo

I am still waiting for my gold findings to arrive, so I started playing around with my silver today after work. I had planned to make a silver necklace using the partial strand that will be left over after I do the YG necklace. However, as I was playing around and holding the pearls against my wrist, I was overcome with the desperate desire to keep them as a bracelet so that I can admire them without carrying a mirror with me everywhere I go. I remembered the thread about Steve's Manihiki keshi where folks discussed making the bracelet a removable part of the necklace. So I added magnetic clasps to the rounds, filled in the front with the drops I have remaining after making my earrings and pendants, and I think I like what I see. I would like your input however. I really want these pieces to be special and if the magnets are too jarring in the flow of the piece, I may just keep the bracelet and save the flower connector for the baroque Tahitians I will eventually get. (The center drop is a Tahitian, which may or may not be swapped out for an exotic dangle - the YG necklace will have an exotic dangle for certain, and I am not sure if I will have any drops left over after I finish distributing to my friends and family).

This is a very rough draft - I plan on attempting to learn to use gimp on these pieces, so the magnets will be connected with gimp to the pearls (therefore there will not be the added distance between pearl and magnet that the bead tips add). The pearls are just strung, not knotted, and the stringing job is loose, so some of the spacers are a bit tilted but still - I think you can get the idea. The magnets sit up at my shoulders which I think might help make them a bit more inconspicuous.

Attachments

• necklace1.jpg
    necklace1.jpg
    68.6 KB · Views: 30
  • necklace2.jpg
    necklace2.jpg
    20.7 KB · Views: 29