Just bought this ring!

pearl02

OK, I am new to pearls and had no idea there was so much to them until I started reading all the posts on this website.

I recently purchased this pearl ring on eBay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250196172137

I absolutely love the ring, and it looks great, but I have a few questions. I bought this ring for my girlfriend. She is a Chi Omega, and it is a sort of promise to get engaged ring, and her sorority does a big pearl drop thing around it, so it is a really big deal for her and for me and I want everything to be perfect.

So, my problem arises in the fact that I think I want a better pearl, and possibly a different size. The has fairly narrow fingers (size 6.25) and I think a 10mm pearl will look way to big on her finger. Therefore I was thinking of getting an 8-8.5mm AAA Akoya pearl from pearlparadise.com ($102). However, I am worried that a different size pearl will not fit into this setting. Also, would it be better to just get a Freshadama since the ring will be worn everyday?

I am kind of a perfectionist and tend to want the best of everything, but I am totally lost in the area of pearls and jewelry. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

PS. The jeweler told me that it would be $100 to resize the platinum ring from 7.75 to 6.25, this seems very high?