Pearls, stones or glass stringing or knotting differently?

A Breaker

Knotting Pearls or stones or glass: Is it really that different? I am self taught (with a little of Grandma's help and advice) I have strung many vintage necklaces and pearls. Some knotting (but I usually do it once or twice a year, so I am out of practice) but I usually have had mostly pearls or mostly beads. I would like to try a 50/50 mix of either Jet or Sodalite with pearls. Not sure why I am so nervous about it. I just don't want to knot all these then have it break. I always thought the knot was so you only lotst 1-2 pearls not the whole string, never realized it protected the pearls! Is it so different or am I just overthinking? What are the considerations that I am NOT thinking about? Shout out to pattye for sending lovely thread!

They're all beads. They knot the same. The only problem I've run into is sometimes stone beads or glass beads have sharp edges that cut the thread eventually, and the necklace breaks. But sometimes they don't. I've never had pearls cut thread.

Stone beads can have sharp edges near the drill hole that can cut through the thread. If you decide to use thread anyway, check your necklace regularly to be sure the thread is still ok.

Copying and pasting from posts I've made before about this topic:

I like to string beads and bead/pearl combinations with 49 ply Beadalon-- it's both strong and flexible. If that is overkill for the size of your beads/pearls, they sell beading wire that has a smaller gauge and fewer ply. The thinnest I've used is called Soft Touch.