I think I've been had...

maiakity

Hello All,
I am a VERY NEWBIE to the pearl world. I've just recently become obsessed with pearls, and I can't even remember what initially set off my obsession. Unfortunately, I found this site and forum after I already made my first purchase (on ebay of all things!) The seller was very nice and communicative, and I did leave positive feedback after I received my purchase because I was very pleased with the customer service, communication, and shipping speed. However, I was disappointed with the quality of the pearls (which she had indicatd were "AAA akoya pearls". The pearls have quite a few visible blemishes, more than I would have expected from any AAA pearls, and I am beginning to strongly suspect they are freshwater pearls, even though the seller insisted they were akoya saltwater pearls even after I specifically asked about this. I will try to upload some pics, all opinions would be greatly appreciated!

2012-05-12113609.jpg

2012-05-12113513.jpg

2012-05-12113334.jpg

2012-05-12113723.jpg

They look a little mismatched in terms of color in these pictures, in some lights they look pretty well matched, in others they don't. I'm bummed because the seller was so nice, but I don't think that I received what I paid for or what was described. Thanks for any input!

Attachments

• 2012-05-12 11.33.34.jpg
    2012-05-12 11.33.34.jpg
    49.8 KB · Views: 25
You do have a strand of freshwater pearls there, not AAA akoya. Who is the seller on eBay? If one does a search on eBay for "akoya pearls," it is very difficult to find someone selling the real thing. Instead, you will find thousands of listing, most coming from China, of freshwater pearls labeled as akoya.