pearl diving research - need help!

beccalecca

My name is Rebecca. I am a Graphic Design student from Wisconsin. I am currently working on a package design project that involves designing an instructional or teaching tool with the hobby of pearl diving.

I understand it is an ancient art, pretty much dying out due to modernization. But the subject matter is pretty much open to interpretation, so I can look at it from any aspect whether ancient or modern.

My question for you is if you could provide me with any insight on pearl diving, historically, or even how you view the modern method we use now of pearl farms.

I am having a very hard time finding books on the subject of pearl diving, and our professor really wants to focus on primary research (interviews, videos, photos, anything original we create). Plus being a poor college student I don't have lots of money to spend on books. My library has nothing here on the subject! I can find lots of internet sources including pearl guide obviously, so I was wondering if you could help me out, or point me to some other people in the industry who would know more about it and willing to be interviewed.

Other than that, if you can think of anything people commonly misunderstand about pearls, or pearl diving? Then I could create something to teach people the right thing. Maybe I could teach people about different kinds of pearls, or how modern pearl farming works?

Any help is welcome!!! Thanks.

There are a couple of articles from Aramco's magazine about Persian Gulf pearl diving on this board. Try searching Persian pearls divers to get to them. Or go to Aramco's magazine website and search for pearls.

Good luck and please keep us up to date on your quest.

You Will Have to read Kunz online. The Dover issues, originally $26.00 are now reselling @ $100, at least.