Freshwater cultured versus saltwater cultured pearls

wnorm

Hi. I'm a newbie with pearls. I generally used regular-cut semi-precious stones. I have a small home-based jewelry business. I'm planning to make some nice pearl stud earrings with 14 kt. gold posts. I have a Quebec tax number so I can purchase wholesale. There are few suppliers in Canada. I want good lustre and a round shape. I need half-drilled pearls of ~8 or more mm in diameter. Grade A would be great.Should I go freshwater or saltwater? I don't want to spend a lot. I won't make any profit. Also, I don't know what sort of duty I'll have to pay when I bring the pearls in. Canada Customs was not very upfront with info when I contacted them. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated. Also is hypo-cement the best for gluing the pearls to the posts?
Thank-you

Hi and welcome
You probably want AAA if you are planning 14ct as A are low grade.
You should be able to check the duty and any purchase tax rates with the proper code, which for temp strung and loose pearls is 717101.

Hi and Welcome. I would go with freshwater pearls because you can get better quality for the same $$$. AAA will get you very round ones. However, I personally like the button shapes very much and they don't usually make the AAA grade because of their shape, even though the luster can be as excellent. IMO, the slightly flattened shape will allow a larger diameter pearl without sticking out too far or weighing down the earlobe as much as the equivalent round.

And yes, hypo cement is good. I use something called GS hypo (the brand name is GS), which is often used by the pros.

Hi again...I knew I had missed something|! I would not use GS Hypo - it stays flexible. We use clear expoxy and haven't lost an earring yet
As an aside, made in China studs sometimes use really kack adhesives, I've sometimes been able to twist the pearl off with my fingers!