What’s my Grandfathers Clam Pearl Worth

Reech

B9E62505-53EE-483B-BF31-495D1D8B49CC.jpeg
AA185DF0-3F27-4D45-9AB5-0195ECE7AD94.jpeg
E18FD119-A73C-473C-97F4-DA7604975726.jpeg
I have here my grandfathers 1.125 ct Clam Pearl he found eating a clam 40+ years ago. I am new to clam pearls What is the value of it and is it a flame? It’s a Perfect egg shape

Take a look a KariPearls website, and compare your pearl to the natural found clam pearls that she has for sale.

Your pearl has a great shape, but doesn't appear to have the flame pattern that is so desirable.

Reech, this has been well covered over on your "Egg Shaped" thread. I'm looking forward to seeing the ring you proposed for this pearl!
There’s just one more thing you forgot to mention, we’re on the east coast so this is most definitely a Quahog Pearl from a littleneck! Worth more I’m assuming? This is with natural Sunlight
A42BF548-3547-4691-9AFA-BD5EA58AA237.jpeg
D6CC5AD5-A748-4D90-AE8F-0F3707BBB57B.jpeg

Last edited:
a Quahog Pearl
Quahog value is more related to color (pinks and purples from the outer lip of the shell are the most rare) than to flame. Your pearl is white, but it has attractive shape and lustre, and no visible signs of heat damage.

For an appraisal, you should approach the online dealers you have already found, such as Kari Pearls or Kojima Pearls. In any case the pearl would make a very nice ring to continue as a family heirloom.

I think that purple and lavender quahog pearls are worth more than white ones. I also recommend Kari Pearls (natural pearls) or Kojima Pearls.

I did find this website that specializes in quahog pearls. I know nothing about this company. You might want to try contacting them.

I’m not familiar with what a flame is I’m brand new to pearls due to this heirloom
"The Flame" is an optical effect seen on some non-nacreous pearls, usually in conch pearls...also a great song by "Cheap Trick", but this doesn't apply here.

Best to SEE the flame effect than to describe it: