New to CFWP Business with Lots of Questions!

M

Meech

Hi everyone,

First of all, I?d like to say that this is a great site! I can?t believe all of the valuable information so freely shared by those of you with such extensive knowledge of pearls and the business of pearls. It?s been great reading for me for the past couple of weeks and I?ve learned a lot, so thank you.

By way of introduction, I?d like to say that I am fairly new to the ?world of pearls?. I?ve been living in Suzhou, China for the past year and a half. After many visits to the local pearl market, I?ve become interested in the business of selling cultured freshwater pearls. As such, I?ve taken the Pearls course offered by GIA and have also been working on a business plan while continuing to nurture relationships with vendors I?ve already purchased from, while also trying to seek out new ones. I?m at the point now where I need to start buying ?in bulk? (by my small fry start-up standards :) ) and I?d like to start re-negotiating some pricing.

Needless to say, I have many questions. At this point, any type of information regarding the industry would be very welcomed and much appreciated. I apologize in advance for this being so long with so many questions, but I figured that I would throw it all out there as I?m unsure where else to go to get this type of information.

I originally planned on selling only the classic white, round/near round CFWP but have also found when back in the U.S. that I am getting many requests for the designer-type jewelry that utilizes all different shapes, sizes and colors of pearls, along with other types of semi-precious stones, etc.

With all of this said, following are several questions that I have: