My Mikimoto experience

mrselephant

A little background about me, I know nothing about pearls. I only started reading about pearls after visiting the Shanghai Hongqiao pearl market and bought an Akoya necklace and earring set. It was a tourist thing that we did and it was sort of an impulse buy. After the purchase, I got a little obsessed in searching for info to see if I was ripped off and that led to me this forum.

Anyway, my husband and I went to Mikimoto (in Hong Kong) today and was amazed by the luster on some of their pearls. They were definitely shinier than my pearls from Shanghai. However, in general, I really doubt if they are THE best pearls you can get. Since I am new to pearls, I asked the saleslady to show me the difference between the A, AA, and AAA strands. She told me that in Hong Kong, they do not have such a rating! They have 3 rating categories, which are "Best of the Best", a medium quality class and a lower quality class. She said that in Hong Kong, they do not give certificates with their pearls. I then asked for an example of the 3 qualities in 7.5-8 necklaces and I was really disappointed in what she showed me. The luster for all 3 strands were much much better than my Shanghai strand, but ALL of them had more blemishes than mine! Mine had some blemishes too, but considering the prices for these pearls, I'd expect much less, not more! The "best of the best" strand is priced at over HKD 90k, the medium quality was HKD 52k, and the lowest quality was HKD 40k; all 16 inch necklaces. With these prices, I don't understand why people buy Mikimoto! This is just my newbie opinion. Maybe they have a better selection in the States?