My Design for a Man's Pearl Necklace

Hello Everyone,

Well, I'm new to pearl jewelry designing (I haven't quit my day-job! LOL!). Actually what got me started was I wanted to make some kind of jewelry that I could show off my birthstone. So this was the first piece I came up with. It's a take on the surfer puka shell necklace, but I put some black freshwater pearls on there with little black coral rondelles. I was trying to keep a tropical surfer look so that a guy could easily pull off wearing it.

What do you think? I wear mine alot and I've even sold one another of them on ebay (which is when I discovered how much of a rip off it is to sell there!)

SurferPearls.jpg

Surfer2.jpg

P.S. I'm not trying to advertise, I just really wanted some opinions on my unique men's necklace design, since it does seem to be a topic of conversation around here. (I'm actually an aerospace engineer by day. :) <--Nerd!) I do apologize to the mods if this was inappropriate.

Last edited:
Hi Peter,

At least I, for one, appreciate men in pearls. I like your design especially when worn with a muscle shirt and a good tan.

Zeide

I like it too.

I thought I'd only want a single philippino pearl on a leather cord, but I think I could stand the surfers necklace. :)

Definitely a surfer look. Neil Patrick Harris has an appointment to come in tomorrow morning. He is not shopping for himself (yet). But I am planning to try and sell him on the Tahitian on leather look.

ha, make sure neil pays cash - doogie hasn't worked in a while ;)

But i do like the necklace although i like the same design with something other then puka shells. Puka shells just got killed a few years back and no true "surfer" would wear them anymore.

I do really like the overall design but for me I'd need a different material then puka shell. Good work though, keep em coming.