Mikimoto, or not? Please advise!

That is just the gimp or French wire-- a little piece of coiled wire that is strung on like a bead just before the clasp is attached. When the thread is pulled snugly, the coils overlap to protect the thread where it connects to the clasp.

It isn't karat gold so it tarnishes over time, but when the pearls are restrung, it is simply replaced. Here is a photo of what gimp looks like stretched out and when it's pulled tight:

attachment.php

attachment.php

Was there any documentation with the pearls to prove they are Mikimoto? The pearls look beautiful but I am not an expert on Mikimoto and I know imitation Miki clasps exist.

My mother has a double strand of Mikimoto pearls that she has a custom clasp attached to, so she gave me one of the Mikmoto clasps and I strung it on one of my own strands of NOT Mikimoto pearls. If I ever sell them, I'll restring them with a non-Miki clasp so no one is deceived.

However, this is what my real Miki clasp looks like.

IMG_1711.jpg

IMG_1712.jpg

IMG_1704.jpg

IMG_1708.jpg

My pearls do not show the flaws from normal viewing distance, but you can see them up close.

Unless your seller has the Mikimoto documentation (each strand is numbered) there's no way to know if you have a real strand, or a real clasp with another strand (like mine), or total fakes. Gimp (French wire) does tarnish.

I'm concerned that the seller was very flippant about keeping the documentation on what should be a very expensive strand of pearls:

gandkbensonThese are gorgeous! Do you have a box or papers, or receipt?

sweetdream2001@gandkbenson no I never keep those things. Feel free to have it checked out.

She should at least keep the Mikimoto number documentation so she can prove they really are Mikis.

Last edited:
Ah, good catch on the message exchange, BWeaves.