How to use a cone

J

jerin

I am no expert on how to use cones but I am starting up this thread so other more experienced members can tell us. However, I have looked up whatever material I have on cones and will quote some how to start and finish multiple strands with cones:

Step 1: bring multiple strands together and attach to a loop at the end of the wire.

Step 2: Pull the wire through the cone, then form a loop on the top.

Step 3: Complete the bracelet/necklace by attaching a jumpring and clasp.

I also got a nice "how to do it" from Blaire (Gemgeek) together with photos. I will quote the text, perhaps Blaire can post the pics together with the text for all to see.

1) Use a piece of 20-gauge or 22-gauge wire, approximately 2- 2? " longer than your cone.
Bend a loop at one end of your wire. Wrap the end around to secure the loop.

2) Tie cords securely onto the wire loop with a double knot. Trim the ends and glue the knot with Jeweler?s Cement. If your strands are too numerous to tie around the loop, tie the knot first, then feed the wire up through the knot. Loop the wire and secure it around the knot.

3) Thread the straight end of your wire up into the cone, so the knot and the bottom loop are up inside the cone.

4) Grasp the wire where it comes out of the narrow end of the cone with round-nose pliers close to the cone. Bend the wire AWAY from you at a 45? angle, then over the pliers tips back toward you to create an eye loop.

5) Slide your finding (clasp, hook or ring)onto the wire, then wrap the end of the wire around the base of the loop one or two times. Clip off excess wire and smooth the exposed edge with pliers if necessary.

6) Your necklace end is attractively and securely finished.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Jeri,
Thanks for the info

I think you could do the same with a gold bead at the end too.

Do you know where to get anything but large silver plated cones?

Hi Jeri,
Do you know where to get anything but large silver plated cones?