Gorgeous golds....

hbyrne

Hello Pearlfans,

I've been meaning to post some photos of this sumptuous necklace for some time now, and as it's been a sunny day I think the pics I've taken show the colours fairly well. I've no knowledge as to their origin other than that it's old, maybe circa 1920's, the neck is 18", and the smallest Pearl is 3mm, largest 7mm. It really has such a range of shapes, and colours; pinks, creams, yellows and some extraordinary metallic golds, much more so than any of the other older naturals I've seen.

Does anyone have a hunch as to whether they could be saltwater or freshwater? A particular species? I've spent so long looking at them, and using the resources I have I'm still no wiser!! I'd be really grateful for any comments.

image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

My first thought was maybe they're Scottish river pearls? But from what I'm reading online now, the colors are typically pastel, with subtle luster, while some of those seem metallic.

Edit: Dave to the rescue! :)
They are beautiful.

Oooh, surprise!! Thank you all for your comments. I hadn't thought of pipi's, but then I've never seen any. It looks as thought it is made from a 'collection' of Pearls. I'm guessing that if it is Pipi, it could make it quite a rare necklace? I need to learn more about them...

Thank you for your offer, Pattye, I wish I could ask you to thread it for me. I was so excited to examine it when I bought it (I literally had the mythical 'hungry eyes') and as it hangs so well I've been loath to get it re-threaded. The clasp looks French to me, but has no marks. Maybe I'll get the metal tested.

Oooh, surprise!! Thank you all for your comments. I hadn't thought of pipi's, but then I've never seen any. It looks as thought it is made from a 'collection' of Pearls. I'm guessing that if it is Pipi, it could make it quite a rare necklace? I need to learn more about them...