Canadian Natural Pearls

Lagoon Island Pearls

First of all, thank you to the administrators for allowing me to join your discussion group. I'm no less than wholly impressed at the high level of professionalism and interest expressed here.

My name is Dave LeBlanc. I live in British Columbia, Canada. Several years ago, while living on Vancouver Island, I held two provincial foreshore leases, where I experimented in the viability of harvesting, conditioning, and rearing of edible clams (Venerupus phillipinarium) and pearl culture in California mussels (Mytilus californianus).

While admittedly neither a marine biologist nor gemologist, I have extensive background as a deep sea diver. During my time as a diver, harvested geoduck clams, red/green sea urchins, abalone, marine plants, barnacles and sea cuccumbers. Not all of these harvestings were for the food industry, but some (namely octopus and barnacles) were harvested for research purposes in either biomass/growth rate studies or spinal cord research.

Due to the onset of debilitating arthritis, I was forced into early retirement from diving at the ripe old age of 26, when I re-adjusted my studies to the intertidal zone.

The waters of Clayoquot Sound and Meares Island are a pristine environment, hundreds of kilometers from major industrial pollution sources. I selected a site within an area known as Lemmens Inlet. This inlet is quite unique on a global scale, apparently having more species per unit square, second only to the Red Sea. There is a thriving oyster culture within Lemmens Inlet, which produce an estimated 50,000 gallons annually of fast growing contaminant-free product.