seller says are Akoya. True?

Pearly Lady

Seller claims that these are 16 inch, 6mm Akoya pearls with 14kt white gold clasp. Do you think so or they freshwater? What do you think of lustre and I don't know the grade. Seller doesn't either. Your thoughts??? I'm an extreme novice. Thank you

Attachments

• akoya 2.jpg
    akoya 2.jpg
    886 bytes · Views: 39
  • akoya 3.jpg
    akoya 3.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 36
  • akoya.jpg
    akoya.jpg
    23.8 KB · Views: 36
I can't see the photos yet (pending approval) but you have several threads going asking various questions, such as:

Do you know anything about this ebay seller?

Is this the seller whose photos are in your attachments? I don't know the seller. He seems to have good feedback and seems to deal in vintage items. He offers a refund if you don't want them after all.
Is this the listing? These are the only pearls he is selling right now:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-1950s-14K-WG-16-6mm-SINGLE-STRAND-AKOYA-CULTURED-PEARL-NECKLACE-NR-/190791204339?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c6c0a bdf3

I expect they are indeed akoyas, round as they are and vintage clasp. (Akoyas have a bead inside so are going to be rounder than freshwaters, generally speaking.)
They seem to have nice luster. Did you want such small pearls? 6 mm is quite dainty. Also, I see surface flaws on some of the pearls.

thank you for helping to educate me. Is Pearl Paradise the best place to buy a necklace?

Where are you located? PearlParadise is a reputable vendor (I've purchased from them many times), as are all the vendors on this forum. If you are outside the USA you may wish to buy from another seller to avoid import duties.

thank you. I'm looking for a 16 inch 6mm to 7mm AA or AAA grade Akoya necklace. Where is the best place to find nice necklace at a good price?

Again, check out PearlParadise, The Pearl Outlet among others on the forum.