Help Please

seadancer

Community member
Hi,
I dont know alot about pearls, but love them. I am hoping someone can help identify the species of this pearl. It came from a gold ring which was custom made for it in Edinburough Scotland in 1961 (hallmarked). When the pearl came out, I could see it had a drill hole on one side, so might have originaly come from a pendant.
Sadly, I must admit, I have no idea whether it is fresh or saltwater, natural or cultured. I dont know what type of pearls were being cultured in 1961 or earlier....the drill hole showed no signs of cultured, but as I'm no expert I cant tell for sure. I hope someone can head me in the right direction for type i.d. :)

Attachments

• DSC00003.jpg
    DSC00003.jpg
    15.3 KB · Views: 36
  • DSC00002.jpg
    DSC00002.jpg
    14.2 KB · Views: 31
  • DSC00004.jpg
    DSC00004.jpg
    11.9 KB · Views: 41
It looks like a coin pearl, albeit a very interesting one with fascinating luster. The surface and luster make it very special. Maybe a natural river Tay pearl? 1961 is too early for the Chinese.

Did John La Tendresse culture American pearls with coins? doubtful, so it is probably a natural freshwater pearl from Scotland.

That is a wild guess, don't bank on it.

Last edited:
I'd need a bit more information. First, did you remove the pearl from the ring? If so, how was it set? While hallmarks can identify metal, they do not necessarily indicate the origin of a pearl.

Very often gems fall out or get replaced with other pieces subsequent to hallmarking. Without a certificate or provenance, the history of this pearl is very difficult to establish, unless compared to something alike.

The UK has been a hub for maritime trade for centuries, hence the origin of this pearl could be virtually anywhere.

That said, this pearl presents with some natural features. Hold it up to a light. Does the light pass translucently? Is there a visible nucleus? If so, what shape/color does it appear?

Hi,