grading question from new member

treepeony

Hello,
I am new to pearls. I bought from PP a set of freshadama for my 19 daughter, and a beautiful single pearl SS golden pendent for my wife. Everyone was very happy
I got a lot of valuable information from here, and I am very grateful.
For our 10th wedding anniversery in June, I planned to get my wife a set of white SS pearls. Now I really can't afford those perfect ones that I have seen, so I saw that amongst the baroque style, some of the pearls are almost round on some necklaces, while on other necklaces the pearls were really baroque.
But the necklaces had similiar grades. So that's my question. Once a pearl is baroque, it doesn't matter how round it is, but other factors determine it's grade?
Jonathan

Hi Jonathan,
I waited a bit to answer this question hoping another seller would chime in but I will go ahead now anyway.

Shape is always factor in determining the value of South Sea pearls. The more round the pearls, the more valuable. But, shape does not determine the quality of the pearl. If a pearl is drop or semi-round, it may still have perfectly clean skin and high luster. South Sea and Tahitian pearl grading allows for other shapes to be categorized as A (or AAA depending on the system) provided the same grading criteria developed my the Ministry of Perliculture in French Polynesia is applied to White South Sea pearl grading as well.

I will see if I can scan up a GIE Perles de Tahiti grading chart to this thread.

Last edited:
thanks

thanks

Hi Jeremy,
Everyone loved the pearls, thankyou.
I have really gotten interested myself.
I'm not sure I'd wear them, but there is something captivating about them. I would like to see this grading system. I see that it is french. If there is a link in french, that would also be fine. (rather than have to scan anything).
Are there people who collect pearls as a hobby?
Jonathan