Earring quality Hanadama

Ishta

Nancy Pelosi's Tahitian's
I am new to Pearl Guide and am a bit confused about what has been referred to as 'earring quality' strands of Akoya pearls. My Hanadama set ratings on nacre gives a 0.4 rating on the earrings and 0.55 on the necklace! The 0.4 on the earrings is the lowest rating given on a Hanadama pearl. Should the earrings not have a higher rating than the necklace?:confused:

Welcome to the forum
No - these figures relate to depth of nacre, not quality. You don't need as much nacre for earrings as you do for a necklace (less wearing away)
earring quality is just a quick way of describing very good quality pearls, the sort you would usually set in earrings rather than an necklace where slightly lower quality can be acceptable

Welcome to the forum
No - these figures relate to depth of nacre, not quality. You don't need as much nacre for earrings as you do for a necklace (less wearing away)
earring quality is just a quick way of describing very good quality pearls, the sort you would usually set in earrings rather than an necklace where slightly lower quality can be acceptable

Thanks pearlescence, I was confused about the nacre rating as all other aspects of the PSL rated the strand and earrings the same! The Teri Analysis and imperfection of surface received the same rating. The only difference was the nacre thickness where the necklace received a higher rating! Would this not then make the strand pearls, all else being equal, superior to the earring pearls?

Yes and no is the answer to that. Yes they have thicker nacre, but no they are no better because each is suited to its use.