Beautiful Pearl in Ring - could it be Cortez

Bodecia

Pearl Designer & Collector
Just wondering about this pearl too. Another one with a blueish/silver caste to it. Size of pearl is 6 mm . I thought it might be from the Sea of Cortez. Any opinions. I do like it :) Like to many pearls ofcourse.

Love some opinions.

Bodecia

Attachments

• a2_1202669786.jpg
    a2_1202669786.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 42
  • a3_1202669793.jpg
    a3_1202669793.jpg
    20.8 KB · Views: 51
Still hoping someone with far more experience than me will jump in here and give their much wanted opinion on what they think this pearl is. I was hoping it might be from the Sea of Cortez. I am fairly sure they sometimes can be only 6 mm. I think some of the lower grade Tahitians come in that size too but then it would not have such a great lustre. So I counted out Tahitian. Doesn't look dyed to me but then I am no expert. It is likely to be a really exotic FW pearl ?????

Also not mine although I wish it were. ;)

Hi Bodecia,

The coloring certainly looks like Sea of Cortez. Also it looks like a mabe to me. Did you see it in person? It appears domed and then flattens out, but of course, in person that may not be the case. Can you tell from the bottom of the ring if it has a backing? Sea of Cortez does produce mabe. So that is a good possibility---

Pattye
so many pearls, so little time

The coloring certainly looks like Sea of Cortez. Also it looks like a mabe to me. Did you see it in person? It appears domed and then flattens out, but of course, in person that may not be the case. Can you tell from the bottom of the ring if it has a backing? Sea of Cortez does produce mabe. So that is a good possibility---

Hi Pattye,