Advice on making stretch-bracelet

maiakity

I'm new to the world of pearls and have never tried beading anything before. I'm considering making a stretch bracelet, and was wondering if anyone had tips/tricks or advice on the materials to use. I am a TOTAL novice, so please explain any jewelery-making lingo if you would be so kind :)

You'll need some pearls!
And some stretch beading thread stuff. Doesn't have to be brand name. thread pearls onto stretchy..watch them fall off again (it's tricky stuff with a mind of its own) and start again. Eventually you have them threaded. to finish, do proper reef knots . Tip - stretch the whole thing before tieing each knot, seems to stop them stretching themselves undone.
If you have access to a drill and can handle it, enlarge the first little bit of the first pearl to about 1.5mm and then pull the knot into that little crevice and glue it there to hide it away
I had planned to make a video of this, so now I know I need to do this!
Hope this helps

Reef knots...can I just you-tube this for instruction? When you say stretch the whole thing before tieing each not, I'm assuming you mean the finishing knots (I would assume a stretch bracelet isn't knotted between each pearl like a non-stretchy one). Any tips on type of glue to use? I don't want to use something that would damage the pearls. Thanks so much for the response!! Now...onto shopping for the right starter pearls for this project :) If you get around to making the video, please post a link!!!

right over left and under, left over right and under (I knew being a brownie several hundred years ago would come good)
no knots between pearls
I use hypo cement for gluing the knot into the hole. just sort of splodge it in and then pull hard to pull the knot into the hole. If it argues I use somethng like the end of pliers to shove.
There's a lot of glamour in making pearl jewellery!