Stainless Steel Wire to string pearls?

Elisha

Hi, I was looking at some Tahitian strands ( reliable vendor) and I was shown a strand of Tahitians which were strung with stainless steel wire. Between each pearl was a small round black disc (guess to function as knots). It looks like the wire is part of an "invisible"/interchangeable clasp drilled into the pearls located at the two ends of the strand. I searched the internet and the clasp looks something like clasp.jpg

I was told that the pearls do not ever need to be re-strung. It is my first time seeing pearls strung this way and felt rather apprehensive about getting pearls strung up this way. (Fortunately for me, that strand did not suit my skin tones) I just wanted an opinion from those of you who have encountered or use such a system before about the pros and cons of this.
Thank you!

Are you referring to the CliClasp system? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tis3tD9YLUU

If so that is a reliable clasp.

As to wire for pearls, I have used nylon coated beading wire instead of thread, with either 2mm gold ball beads or small, round semi-precious stone beads betwen the pearls to provide spacing and flexibility, but all of these materials are harder than nacre and can eventually erode the pearl's drill hole (wire) or scratch the nacre (metal/stones), so I only use it for inexpensive pearls that I don't wear very often.

Elisha,

Thanks for sharing your observations. I wonder why they used the wire and spacers, as pearls and gems can be knotted with the invisible clasp systems. I have seen a number of temporary strands of gems and pearls with the little bumpers or spacers, a logical use, and found the spacers sold in bead shops.