Question regarding the metals in findings

Bluebyrd

I am learning beading and stringing. The metals in some findings concerns me. Can anyone tell me the more dangerous metals to look out for? Which is worse regarding toxicity - nickel or zinc? When they say silver alloy, what does that mean? If something says silver plated, do I have to be concerned about the bad metals coming through?

Also, for jump rings, do you prefer Snapeez to regular jump rings?

Thanks!

Blubyrd, I'm no expert, but you should avoid findings containing nickel. Sterling silver contains copper as the alloy. Argentium silver contains germanium which makes it less prone to tarnishing. Silver plating will eventually wear off with use exposing the base metal (which could be nickel). I use sterling, argentium, vermeil, or gold-filled findings usually which are all safe and generally don't cause anynallergic reactions. They are also inexpensive. I only use gold for very special pieces.

I am learning beading and stringing. The metals in some findings concerns me. Can anyone tell me the more dangerous metals to look out for? Which is worse regarding toxicity - nickel or zinc? When they say silver alloy, what does that mean? If something says silver plated, do I have to be concerned about the bad metals coming through?

Thanks!

Plated metals have thin coatings usually gold or silver over brass, but sometimes over copper or other metals. Due to thin coating ,It is not good for wear areas like necklace chain or clasp. Gold plate, or silver plated is required to be at least .5 microns thick (a very small measuring unit). Vermeil to earn it's title must be 5 times amount of plating at 2.5 microns , and be plated over sterling Silver Requirements s are FTC requirements.