Please help! Are these real Tahitian pearls?

nessie26

Hi guys! I recently purchased this earrings online and owner said these are tahitian pearls. Also its my first time to have this kind of pearl so i have no idea. I bought it because I love the color. I also noticed that the bottom part of the pearl is cut so I wonder if it is normal? The earrings is set on 14 karat gold.Thank you. IMG 20160827 06716 "before"afterafter220180222_123642.jpg20180222_123642.jpg20180222_123507.jpg

I agree, dyed freshwater pearls.

Not normal at all to cut off the bottom of the pearls. Evidently these were baroque pearls that the seller wanted to fit into that finding, but why? There are so many button shaped freshwater pearls that could be made into studs.

I've seen tahitian buttons which look like that. But not well matched from the photos. I would doubt the gold claim without a check because those butterflies are huge for gold.

Those are definitely freshwater pearls and the setting looks like base metal, not gold. I hope you didn't pay much for these or are at least able to return them because they are not Tahitian pearls and are worth very little.

Hi. I had the metal tested and its 100% 14karats white gold. I can send closer pics for the buttom part because they do look like they are really cut purposely 😔

Huh, they really were cut. I've never seen anything like that.

Are they returnable? Unless you love them, I'd be looking at sending them back for a refund.