Pearl Oysters for opening

Shiby

Hello!
I am new to the world of pearls and have recently started drilling and making my own jewelry and allowing my friends to open pearl oysters for fun to add their "personal" touch to the jewelry. I was wondering if any of you had a recommendation on a good wholesaler you recommend for settings and for oysters?
I am also open to any advice and suggestions you may have. I am really loving it and right now am only using Akoya oyster pearls.
Thank you!

*Edited as before this was ok'd to the forum I read through a lot of stuff and realized that the akoya pearls were not actually akoya pearls*

Last edited:
There are at least a half dozen threads here regarding this sort of business.

I literally just joined, so I was reading until my post got cleared. I have read that most if not all are freshwater and not akoya and that black is dyed not natural. I have informed all of my friends of this. I do not work for any of these weird pearl party companies I was doing this for fun for friends at a more than affordable rate. They are just paying to cover the settings basically. I find it disappointing that the ones charging so much in pearl parties are doing this with false advertising :(

Also makes me a little sad I bought a Vantel to begin with for a friends party :(

For some reason one of my posts didn't post so I apologize if it shows up twice for anyone.
I am super new to the group - literally heard of this group like .. maybe an hour ago from googling to learn stuff myself.
ALL of my friends have been notified that they are Freshwater and so is all of their stuff from Vantel and the rest of the pearl parties they have attended most likely.
I also essentially only charge for the setting and necklace and the rest is just something they have fun with.
I know some people seem to think it is gross but hey.. if my friends have fun with it what ever. I am here to learn.