Pearl colour help please

Hello - I'm pretty new with pearls myself and I have been lusting over mikimoto's pearl stud earring in 7.5-8mm AA/AAA with a diamond stud on top.

(MSG below edited due to error)

I'm looking at options as obviously the above is super expensive. I'm in the UK so I'm prob gonna order it from the U.S. - I'm a bit confused over colour options - white/ivory/rose?

I obviously want it to look at as much as the Mikimotos - I think they look like white pearls with pink lustre, and not a pink pearl per se?.

With a Mikimoto stud earring in mind - which is I think white but has a pink reflection - would you go with natural white/white/pink/ivory colour when buying a hanadama, specifically from pearl paradise?

Appreciate any advice.. thanks..

Last edited:
glimmeryjewels,

Welcome! Sounds like you have some very special earrings in mind! For a white pearl (not a pink pearl) you would want the PP Hanadama with rose overtones. Pearl Paradise hanadamas are lovely and I've seen them in person, though I don't own any myself.

You're not going to get the white-pink Mikimoto look with Pearl Source hanadama. I've seen many of their hanadama pieces and they have all been cream to yellow with a rose overtone. There is a big difference visually and in value with the color you're describing.

Also, Pearl Source is in the US, not the UK.

Jeremy is right about what you will get with the other company. I own the natural white hanadamas from Pearl Paradise and they are very beautiful. I think you would be happy with the regular hanadama pearl earrings from Pearl Paradise, which have a rose overtone, but look white against the skin.

Here are some photos of my pearls:

In indirect light
DSCN3405[1].jpg

In sunshine
DSCN3399[1].jpg