Need help identifying these pearls.....I am a pearl novice

rosedl

Hi everyone

These are real pearls. I know that much. I just don't know anymore about them, so if you have any ideas or info, it would be appreciated.

Here is a picture of the pearls

DSC_3593.jpg

The clasp is marked 14kt gold followed by what looks like three Japanese characters. Also on the thinest part of the clasp there is w or m with a line above (or beneath it, I don't know which way is up). They measure about 1/4" each. It is 18" long not counting clasps.

Thank you in advance for any help

Hi There,

At first glance, they look like Chinese freshwater cultured pearls. A white paper towel would be a better background. Can you get a close-up of a few pearls? Does your camera have a macro setting - a little flower? Okay, time to do a second photo or two.

Thanks, and welcome to Pearl Guide!
Blaire

I agree, rosedl, and the reason is that unless it's something to do with the camera angle, a lot of the pearls look very slightly "flattened." Freshwater pearls are often that way. Unlike the saltwater pearls, freshwaters usually don't have a round (shell) bead nucleus to make them more perfectly round.

I'm no expert, but I don't know of anything important that the "M" or "W" on the clasp would mean. "Mikimoto" is a well known pearl company, of course, but I believe they use a clamshell design along with their "M" on their clasps, and a small pearl as part of the clasp design as well. That clasp looks like a standard fish hook one to me.

In any case, it looks like a pretty necklace. :)

Last edited:
True, they look like Chinese cultured freshwater pearls due to their slight barrel shape. I estimate them to be around 8mm, which is actually a very useful size.

The nice thing about these pearls is that there is no bead inside-- so they are all nacre, and very durable.