Hunt for Circled Tahitians

pregcurious

I am new to the world of colored pearls, so please bear with me. :eek: I am an experienced colored gemstone buyer from PS, but I know very little about pearls. I have read the education topics here, and I have been lurking on the Pearl forum on PS for a few months.

I am on the hunt for my first serious pearl purchase. I looked around at Pearl Paradise, American Pearl, Tahitianpearls.biz, American Pearl, Pearl Source...you get the idea. PP had the largest selection of Tahitians, so I contacted them for circled Tahitians with strong bands of pink, blue and green (peacock colors) on a darker body. (I also have previous white pearl purchases from PP, and everything has been lovely.)

They currently don't have anything in stock with the strong overtones I prefer, so I am now looking at ovals (have increased budget accordingly). I found the overtones very hard to judge on pictures. Hisano kindly sent me 3 pictures so far, all comparing 1 candidate strand with others, but it is not peacock enough for me. I scheduled an appointment in person at the end of March (I am flying in from the East Coast).

Is there any advice you can give me? How hard it is to find something like this? :p I feel like I should wait for the "right" strand. I have patience for colored gemstones (CS)...do I need the same for pearls? My guess is that the answer is yes. :( Thanks for reading.

Hello and welcome to PG! :)

Just like CS, colour is very personal when it comes to pearls, and I am glad that you can visit PP in person to be able to see for yourself the many different colours and shapes of Tahitians, as you may find colours that you have not considered as suitable before appealing in real life.

If you are not in a hurry, it is definitely worth the wait for the right strand to come along.

Good luck with your search, and have fun with pearls - they can be quite additive too, just like CS!

DK :)