Fake, cultured, real? Help!

Cat.s74

Hello all,
I am new to Pearl-guide-- trying to find out some information on a strand of pearls. I have no information about them at all. My father recently passed away and I found them in a box of jewelry. The string broke and they did not have knots in-between them so I had to re-string. The clasp says 14K. The photos are not very good. Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Attachments

• Pearl 1.jpg
    Pearl 1.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 98
  • Pearl 2.jpg
    Pearl 2.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 96
  • Pearls clasp.jpg
    Pearls clasp.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 91
  • Pearls outside lighting.jpg
    Pearls outside lighting.jpg
    83.5 KB · Views: 91
  • Pearls upclose.jpg
    Pearls upclose.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 123
Hi and welcome to Pearl-Guide. Sorry for delay, I didn't see your post until now.

Your pearls have an interesting mix of qualities. At this point I'm leaning toward imitation but there are some tests you can do.

1. Wipe the pearls clean with a damp soft cloth, then gently rub 2 of them together. Genuine pearl nacre tends to have a resistant, very slightly gritty feel. Imitation pearls generally slide easily. This is also called the tooth test when one rubs the pearl against the edge of one's front tooth.

2. If you have a 10x loupe (or visit a local jeweler and ask to use theirs), you can look at the surface of the pearls. Genuine nacre looks very smooth at that magnification, while imitations look more coarse. It helps to compare what you see against a known-fake pearl you may have, or a known-real pearl (which the jeweler may be selling.)