Ebay estate pearl necklace

knotty panda

Pearl Knotting & Wire Expert
Wendy: I'm not an expert, I only play one on TV. Tell me, are you looking or really considering? Dania Beach (where the seller is) is covered with antique shops and a ready supply of estate jewelry. Several weeks ago, when I had a life, I saw a flapper style Biwa necklace dated late 20's for $18K. No clasp, just Biwa. Your necklace looks very similar, but much whiter. The size of the pearls are described as rather large but they appear to me to be nugget. I don't think I'd write this one off yet. It might be a good deal.

Last edited:
Gemsveritas said:
...they look too irregular (therefore cheap,if CFW) to be using a FANCY gold and diamond clasp.

The combination seems inspired to me (leaves & wild looking pearls make sense together)... Not all jewelry combines elements based on or according to their individual cost, and this may well be such a case. I would have used more strands, perhaps of different size... but what do I know what were they thinking making this one, what I am thinking.. is Robert Lee Morris and his pebble necklaces with the worst pearls used so well (IMO).

This being an estate piece, I wouldn't be surprised if the combination clasp & pearls wasn't a recycling project (e.g. making use of an older pin for clasp etc.)

And then, there could be other reasons. I wouldn't find this one too unusual... methinks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Valeria: My sentiments exactly. Recycle job, absolutely. A strand in the original design breaks and voila! new design! That would explain why the piece looks so new. Think they are Biwa? Wouldn't surprise me if the seller doesn't even know. The more I look at it, the more I think it needs a closer look.

Last edited:
Hi All,