How do you care for your freshwater pearls?

pandaexpress

Hi I'm totally new to pearl-guide and pearls in general and have lots of questions! Thanks in advance for all your generous time and education.

So how do you store your pearls?
1) In the jewelry box it came in
2) In your own jewelry box
3) In a satin, cloth bag
4) Other

Is there a recommended "best way" to store your pearls?

Thanks!
Tony

Hi I'm totally new to pearl-guide and pearls in general and have lots of questions! Thanks in advance for all your generous time and education.

So how do you store your pearls?
1) In the jewelry box it came in
2) In your own jewelry box
3) In a satin, cloth bag
4) Other

Is there a recommended "best way" to store your pearls?

Thanks!
Tony

Hi Tony
and welcome to the forum.:)
If you read the posts under the thread "Pearls and Pearl Care" you will find a lot of posts reg storage and care.

In short: as long as you wear your pearls and put them in the bathroom while taking a shower from time to time, they will do great as they need a bit of moisture. Freshwaters will fare better than Akoyas, as they have only a rather thin coating of nacre, if these pearls dry up, the nacre will crack.

All thre options above are OK, a 4th option would be silk pouches (can be ordered from China). If you have valuable pearls you might store them in a safe, then the original boxes lined with satin might be too large, so pouches would be better. And if you have been here on the forum it will take you not very long to become pearl addicted!:D

Thanks Jerin

Thanks Jerin

Ah ha! I hadn't made it over to that forum yet so I will go there and continue learning! Thanks for the direction and for your thoughts.

Love a poll!