Pearls from Sulo, Philippines

Emespearls

Hi Everyone

I'm new to pearls and Im wondering if any of you experts could comment on these pearls which my girlfriend from Zamboanga City, Philippines bought from a local muslim trader who claims to have contact with pearl divers in the Sulo sea.

1. Golden yellow pearl
Size is 9-10mm, Golden Pearl (Natural), has some "fish bites" according to trader. What causes those scars on the pearls?

My GF bought them for US$40 each.

2. Black south sea pearl
This one measures 12-13mm, good luster and was bought for US$70 (pearl only).

Please comment on their quality, marketability and selling price say if turned into a ring or pendant. I'm based in Sydney and I'm thinking of making extra money by marketing these pearls here on a small-scale basis. Any comments will be very much appreciated.

Many thanks.

Attachments

• Golden Yellow 9-10mm.jpg
    Golden Yellow 9-10mm.jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 42
  • Black South Sea Ring 1.JPG
    Black South Sea Ring 1.JPG
    44.9 KB · Views: 39
Emespearls,

Welcome. You've come to a great place to explore pearls, their complexity and characteristics.

Here there are many links to websites where you can research what similar pearls sell for.

Many golden SS pearls are being dyed these days, will you be able to tell the difference? Buying from reliable sources is one way of protecting yourself. Blemishing, such as you describe, is common in pearls, and of course, unblemished pearls command a higher price.

local muslim trader who claims to have contact with pearl divers in the Sulo sea.

Sounds romantic, but you could be at risk for a scam. Negotiating to purchase pearls is an art in itself.

Only you can do the market research for your area, to see what competitors are charging. Unless you and/or your girlfriend know a lot about pearls, proceed with extreme caution.

Hi Everyone