Need tips on Cleaning Tahitian pearls after removal from oyster

llcraig2011

I'm a jeweler and recently bought my first wholesale lot of tahitian pearl drops in the oyster shell. I was very excited to get the lot, open them, remove pearls, and clean them. After doing about 20 pearls, including gently cleaning them with dawn dishwashing detergent and a very soft toothbrush, I noticed the dried pearls had what looked like a residue or thin white film on them. I couldn't remove the film and finally tried gently rubbing one of the pearls with my water soaked soft fingernail. Surprisingly, it removed the film/residue! Is there an easier way to clean my tahitian pearls? They came in individual, sealed, clear plastic packages and were soaked in fimalgihyde or some other preservative that smelled bad! I don't know if the residue/film is salt or preservative. I have many pearls to clean and I need a faster, safer, and proper way to clean the pearls. Afraid I could scratch the pearl if I pressed too hard with my fingernail!

I'm concerned that you probably bought dyed freshwater pearls that were placed in akoya oyster shells. Can you give us more details about your source? Tahitians are not normally sold in shells.

I'm concerned that you probably bought dyed freshwater pearls that were placed in akoya oyster shells. Can you give us more details about your source? Tahitians are not normally sold in shells.