Help with tie-bar (?) style clasp?

battah

Hi all! It's nice to be back and to see all of your fabulous creativity flowing :)

I just ordered a few of these clasps: https://www.riogrande.com/Product/Sterling-Silver-Circle-Hinged-Clasp-with-End-Caps/613547

It's my first time using a clasp with caps with tie bars. I've had no luck googling tutorials or finding instructions on how to tie them in neatly and glue/trim without leaving thread exposed. Can anyone help me out? I'm also planning to use them for kumihimo necklaces, so the tie bar might prove trickier to use in those cases. Worst case scenario I might be able to just cut the bar out and glue the braid in normally, but tying would add some nice security, I think.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Honestly, I have no idea. I can't see how you would have working room to tie off and trim the threads and still have it all end up neatly hidden inside the cap.

Sorry, not much help but at least you won't feel like you are the only person who doesn't get it.

Thanks for the reply! Hmm that's what I was afraid of. It just seems like it would be hard to get the knot nice and tight to have the cap sit flush against the pearl, but also trim the ends. With the kumihimo braid at least I can glue it in there without tying, but I obviously don't want to get glue on the pearls...

I've never used an end cap like this, but I have strung pearls and I make kumihimo braids using a marudai, so I'm familiar with what you are trying to do. You're going to need a very flexible needle, so perhaps a fishing line type needle threader will work for this, and that's what I'll mean by "needle."