Help with this pin please!

Bluestar

Sorry for the dark pictures. We have had a shortage of sunlight here lately and I did not want to use the flash.

The pearl is beautiful I think. It looks more pinkish white in person and almost seems to glow. The only mark on the pin is the word "SILVER" in a box on the back.

What kind of pearl do you all think it may be?

Thank you! 002.jpg003.jpg004.jpg009.jpg012.jpg

The pearl appears to be a cultured freshwater from China with a lovely color and luster. That is a sweet pin.

Pretty pearl! I can't help, as I'm not an expert, but the only two pieces of jewelry I own with "silver" appearing as it does on your piece are a pin and a pendant from Japan, containing Japanese freshwater pearls (from the 1980s). Yours, however, is of a very different aesthetic. Where else is that hallmark commonly used? Do you know anything about where the piece was made? As Marianne says, it's most likely a Chinese freshwater pearl, but it would help to have some context.

your pearl more like freshwater pearl, Your pearl is beautiful, the luster is good, what size the pearl you think ?

Cute pin, and the pearl looks like CFWP to me too.

DK :)

Hi
Can I stick my pedantic nose in here....I've seen a few mentions of 'hallmark' again when someone means trademark or some sort of statement of quality.
A hallmark can on be a mark or marks applied by a specific authority to guarantee quality and type of metal
Thus my work, when over a certain weight of precious metal must, by law, go to Goldsmith's Hall in London to be assayed and then marked with various stamps including my maker's mark. Hallmarking - the marking by the learned company of Goldsmiths, has been a standard of consumer quality in England since the 14th C
the Mikimoto shell with M or something which says silver or .925 are not hallmarks. the former is a trademark and the latter is a claim or assertion
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hallmark
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goldsmith's_Hall