Headed to Zhu Ji on Monday...any suggestions?

M

missmouse

hi,

upon jeremy's suggestion i am heading out to Zhu Ji on monday to check out the pearl market. anyone want to share what i should expect? i'll just let you know, i am relatively new to the pearl biz, and i don't know a ton about FW pearls (which is what i am after). i am using these pearls for fashion jewelry, so i want the best quality i can get, at a decent price.

here are my basic Q's:

--how do i examine for nacre thickness? what should i be expecting for a high-quality beading pearl? i think i can spot good luster, but the nacre thickness thing kind of boggles me.
--will they sell me a strand or two? what if i tell them they are samples?
--what should the prices be like compared to Ling Ling (or Hong-Qiao)
--how hard am i going to have to bargain?
--what kind of 'tricks' are they going to try and use on a novice pearl buyer like me?

and does anyone know of a good hotel in that area, or Yi-Wu (i am going there, too).

TIA for any info from anyone. i am willing to let y'all know what i find there.....
this forum is so great!

erin :)

I am glad to hear you are going to Zhuji! You will have a great time. I am sure a lot of others will email you with their experiences as well!
Regarding my take on your Q's:

--how do i examine for nacre thickness? what should i be expecting for a high-quality beading pearl? i think i can spot good luster, but the nacre thickness thing kind of boggles me.
--will they sell me a strand or two? what if i tell them they are samples?
--what should the prices be like compared to Ling Ling (or Hong-Qiao)
--how hard am i going to have to bargain?
--what kind of 'tricks' are they going to try and use on a novice pearl buyer like me?

You are going to look at freshwater pearls in Zhuji (and in Yiwu), so nacre thickness is not a concern. Nacre quality is important, but as the pearls are almost universally mantle-tissue nucleated, the thickness is not an issue.