Feeling kinda dumb here

Hi all -- I'm a real newbie when it comes to pearls and boy am I confused! The ones in the pix pass the gritty test, and have darker centers when held to the light. The clasp is nuttin' fancy but is stamped 14k. I inherited this 18" strand from my MIL along with a pearl ring. The leather case they came to me in is stamped "Perry's Jewelry."

Any one help me out to identify what I have inherited please? I sure would appreciate it.

Attachments

• pearls 002.jpg
    pearls 002.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 33
  • pearls 001.jpg
    pearls 001.jpg
    11.7 KB · Views: 22
  • pearls2 001.jpg
    pearls2 001.jpg
    9.9 KB · Views: 27
Hi, VT, tempting photos (ie the clasp is intriguing me) but not really clear enough to give us a leg up. Thanks for the light background, it helps.

does your camera have a macro/ close-up setting?

Even though the photos are fuzzy, I'm seeing variations in the color of the overtones, so my vote goes (tentatively) to akoya pearls. But closeups especially of any flaws would be helpful.

Does your camera have a macro or closeup icon?

Errr... sorry, the photos looked much better on the iphone. It'll take a couple of days to post macro shots. I have them, but had to order a new cable to download :(

Question: I have held these up to the light. The have definite dark yet uneven centers. Some have larger dark centers than others. When I turn the strand in front of the light, in some of the pearls, the dark center gets smaller then larger as I roll. Other pearls appear to have a large dark center, but as I turn a little bit -- it appears as if it flat! One pearl has a particularly large center, has greath debth and better shine. The drilled holes are tiny! Some of the holes have little chips around them, but the hole itself is no larger than the string. Does this help?
Question: I don't understand what 'blinking' means. Could someone explain it please?