Evaluation Forum.

Caitlin

Amazing. I found 100 threads asking for evaluations!!!! About 5 are for simulated pearls. We haven't had much of a voice in simulated pearls.......

But these threads are an education when you read one after the other! Pretty soon.......

This forum is not the same as "show us your pearls"! Over there, it is show and tell and admire.

Over here, it is tell me about those pearls my grandmother, aunt, etc. gave me. It is a chance to take a guess. We have real experts who can speak with authority, but it is also an opportunity to test yourself. I expect to see a lot of expectation for natural pearls in this Forum so it should be a great opportunity to sharpen our skills at identification!

If you have not noticed, I do not mind guessing wrong about pearls- it think it is more important to try to make a good guess. If it isn't correct, well that is a learning experience! I am not a trained pearl person. I am a public amateur, so to speak- I am learning in public, so sometimes I am wrong in public. No big deal.

If you notice anything about the item in question, please comment- even if it isn't a guess. This looks like it could be a lot of fun!

I have seen quite a few synthetics. 98% are junk. A majorica in the origonal box has some value. David, another line, has some also. Most of them are junk.
Stores like good will or st vinnies have tons of this stuff. The finest beaded necklace we have strung in the many decades were hand blown glass. 30 years ago my mother, company founder, said she strung quite a few but they pietered out over the years. The size was 4 mm to 9mm and usually wax filled. I was told they were made in france. I would take one, now, in a heart beat. Supurb color. They were quite light and the color was like an old christmas ornament, lots of color play .

hand blown glass beads

hand blown glass beads

I would love to see a photo of one of those!

My Brownie camera at the time took kinda poor pictures ;)

Norm