Akoya vs. Freshwater

Steamboat

Hi,

I'm new to shopping for pearls. I think I'd like to get my SO a set for her 30th. I was looking at these on PearlParadise.com but didn't see anything regarding luster and length of the necklace which makes me a little skeptical.

They're on the small side but she's 5' 2" 115 lbs. so I don't think they will look "too" small but they probably won't jump out either. I would really like to get earrings and a bracelet, too. That's what attracted me to this bundle. Selecting 18" AA+ for the necklace brings it up to $780. I'd obviously like to get the best bang for the buck but I don't seem myself spending much more as we're saving for a wedding. I love to hear any opinions. Thanks.

Full set of white akoya pearls

Get the 7.5mm to 8mm Freshadama set and save yourself over 200 USD, arguably the best CFWP one can buy, IMHO.

DK :)

The ad from Pearl Paradise says it is 16-18". AA+ means the luster is good, though may be a bit off round, no one will ever notice except pearl freaks. The AAA will be close to perfect with better luster.

To save money and still get the bast bang for your buck, consider a freshadama, the best AAA quality of Freshwater pearls. You can get 7.5-8mm for $500 for the set. Bigger pearls less money. White freshadama pearl set

If you get the same size as the akoya, you will save even more. Personally, I love the freshadamas. The difference in luster between a AA+ akoyas and a AAA cherry picked freshadama is negligible, or even better.

Hi dkan.

That is two of us independently recommending the Freshies! She posted while I was still writing!

Let us know how yuor thinking process goes.

Waves at Caitlin!

DK :D

I'm going to chime in and suggest you get the Freshadamas. I have a strand and find them very lustrous.

Here is a photo of my strand of Freshadamas so you can get an idea of their luster. Indoors, natural light, no photoshopping. It's 7-8mm, 18":