Found in a big bag o’ junk…

Wednesday

I’ve been at it again- eBay and charity shops…
Four real pearl strands (and a lot of plastic beads).
I’d be really grateful if the experts could take quick look please, tell me what you think. My own impression, for what it’s worth is that the strands with clasps on them were beautiful and probably quite expensive, but now past their best. A few damaged and discoloured pearls and peeling nacre on both. That said, the larger pearls at the front are still attractive so they can probably be re-worked to use the best ones. These two have the nicest clasps I’ve come across. Both have sapphires, and the one set with a pearl has a very clever little safety catch on it.

The two broken stands are also quite pretty- the like seed pearls don’t have much lustre, but they will work for the project I have in mind. The larger broken strand I’m less sure about- could they be Akoya, or are they freshwater? I’m not experienced enough to tell.
Grateful for any thoughts.

Attachments

• IMG_4769.jpeg
    IMG_4769.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 54
  • IMG_4770.jpeg
    IMG_4770.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 41
  • IMG_4775.jpeg
    IMG_4775.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 40
  • IMG_4776.jpeg
    IMG_4776.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 37
  • IMG_4780.jpeg
    IMG_4780.jpeg
    948.4 KB · Views: 46
  • IMG_4781.jpeg
    IMG_4781.jpeg
    899.7 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_4786.jpeg
    IMG_4786.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 54
Nice clasps. Sapphires have been man made for around 100 years, so these could be mined or created. You have enough real akoya pearls there to create one or two nice necklaces, and toss the bad pearls.

Thank you! I’ve managed to get matinee length necklace out of the two with saphire clasps The bright blue single sapphire is synthetic, but the ones or the pearl clasp are mined, and it's a really lovely clasp so I used that one.

The non graduated strand is just long enough for a choker

Attachments

• IMG_4790.jpeg
    IMG_4790.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 19