Akoya prices

Katbran

First of all thanks for all the wonderful information supplied through this Forum! I am a complete novice when it comes to pearls and have just begun to 'dabble'..Since becoming a pearl convert over the past three months I've been scouring the internet for strands and prices. My question is this...if a supplier says that a strand is Akoya..is there some proof/certification that should be offered or is it just by examination that a strand is determined to be genuine? Thanks very much for all of your pearl wisdom!:)

Hi Katbran,

Welcome to P-G!

Your question is not an easy one to answer, and these are just my thoughts on the subject-------------

Akoya pearls are some of the most challenging to evaluate as to quality vs cost. Akoya are more expensive to start with, being cultured in the small akoya oyster, which cannot produce the multiple 24-30 pearls a freshwater mussel can produce. Thickness of nacre is difficult to evaluate, but is all important, because thin nacre can wear down to the mother of pearl bead underneath fairly quickly.

Some unscrupulous "suppliers" know a strand labeled "akoya" may infer to the consumer a higher quality pearl, i.e., akoya=Japanese pearls=Mikimoto.

Hanadama certificates issued by the Japanese govt describe the akoya pearl strand meeting the highest standards. Hopefully you have read that section here.
Although these strands run in the thousands, one is assured that nacre depth has been evaluated by x-ray, the only truly accurate measure.

Some sellers offer with your pearl purchase an appraisal certificate giving the retail replacement value (for insurance purposes). Or you may just receive an invoice that might say "akoya necklace" or something like that.

Akoya pearls are recognizable as one becomes more familiar by looking at and handling pearls. They have characteristic blemishes, fall into a certain size range, nacre has a certain sheen--all subtle ways to differentiate from freshwater pearls.