14k clasp indication of quality or what is the worse mismatch of clasp and pearls you have seen and why is it bad?

A Breaker

I am trying to very quickly understand clasp quality with pearl quality. What does a 14k claps generally mean? If I love a 14k clasp do I need an equally great pearl string? If I have a nice string, how bad is it to use a vintage base metal clasp? What about a sterling clasp with diamonds on a good string or does a 14k clasp make the string more valuable? I have seen several youtubes on High quality clasps on lower quality pearls...but I am still learning pearls and only know what I like. I need several new clasps for several pearls and while I love stringing...I don't want to do this several times.

You can certainly put any clasp on any strand of pearls. Of course a gold clasp increases the value of a necklace-- just because gold is more expensive-- but that won't matter until/unless you decide to sell the necklace.

Some people might hesitate to buy a good quality necklace if it has a poor quality clasp. They may not want to have to buy a better clasp and pay someone to restring it, as that would add significantly to the cost of the necklace.

They may not even believe the necklace is as good as you say it is, as a cheap clasp is incongruous with a high quality necklace.

As to putting a valuable clasp on a mediocre strand-- again, it doesn't matter until you want to sell it. Then someone may buy the necklace only for the clasp, and that could limit what they are willing to pay for it.

You can certainly put any clasp on any strand of pearls. Of course a gold clasp increases the value of a necklace-- just because gold is more expensive-- but that won't matter until/unless you decide to sell the necklace.

Some people might hesitate to buy a good quality necklace if it has a poor quality clasp. They may not want to have to buy a better clasp and pay someone to restring it, as that would add significantly to the cost of the necklace.