Which necklace to keep?

orb0554

I am new to pearls, I just purchased these and would like your opinion on which one to keep. These are for my GF and will most likely upgrade quality and size in a year or so.

I selected AA+ Akoras in 7.0-7.5 mm range for this 18" necklace.

I did notice some of the pearls seem to have a dimple, is this normal in this quality?

Thank you for your input, Oscar

DSC03691.JPG

DSC03693.JPG

DSC03694.JPG

Hi Oscar,

Could you possibly retake the photos on a white paper towel? I think in the top photo shows that the bottom strand has the better luster and most distinct reflection. Yes, a few blemishes would be expected. Since there is no standard grade, refer to the website for an explanation of the company's grading system. The orange cloth seems to be masking any overtones. Both strands seem to be well matched overall for size and color. Lucky Lady! Few of us would object to a wardrobe of pearls!

Last edited:
I agree with Pattye on the superior luster appearing to be in the bottom strand. That one would be my choice. The dimples are to be expected, as she said - from quick appearances here they don't detract. In general, with higher luster, minor inclusions like that do not detract from the beauty of the strand. If you can repost with a photo on white paper, we will be able to tell if there are subtle differences in the overtones. Even without that, these are lovely - great gift selection on your part!

I think in the top photo shows that the bottom strand has the better luster and most distinct reflection

That's what grabbed me when I looked at the top photo, the bottom strand seems to the nicer piece. Its hard to see any imperfections in those pictures but you should expect some with a AA or AA+ grade.

If we can't notice them from those pictures, more then likely nobody will notice them while your GF is wearing them. If they do notice them they are standing too close! :p