Sourcing for Pearl Farm

Pink282

Hi Everyone. I'm new here.
I'm interested with Pearl recently and still studying on it.
I wish to know is there any pearl farm open for visit & enable to buy in bulk for Jewelry making purpose in Sabah?
As a beginner, I think I would start with freshwater pearl at this moment but information related with saltwater pearl I would love to hear also.
It would be great if all of you could provide me with information.
Thank you. :eek:

Welcome. :)

Usually, pearl farms don't sell directly to the public and if they do, it can cost more than buying them through a dealer or online. When they are processed, sorted, drilled and matched by a factory, it is worth the money added on to the cost for this service.

Even though South Sea pearls are grown in Indonesia, most are exported. Freshwater pearls are typically grown in China and you can get good deals online. If you are seeing freshwater pearls in the marketplace, they are probably imported from China. Starting with freshwater pearls is a great idea as saltwater pearls are costly.

Good luck with your jewelry making!

Welcome. :)

Usually, pearl farms don't sell directly to the public and if they do, it can cost more than buying them through a dealer or online. When they are processed, sorted, drilled and matched by a factory, it is worth the money added on to the cost for this service.

Even though South Sea pearls are grown in Indonesia, most are exported. Freshwater pearls are typically grown in China and you can get good deals online. If you are seeing freshwater pearls in the marketplace, they are probably imported from China. Starting with freshwater pearls is a great idea as saltwater pearls are costly.

Good luck with your jewelry making!

Thank you for your information.
I'm lived in Malaysia, so is it possible i able to get freshwater pearls or saltwater pearls at Sabah(Borneo) which had been processed by factory?
Or it is better that i get Freshwater pearl from China via online?