SOC Pearls and Rubies!

pkinnew

No, I'm not receiving kick backs from vendors lol but check out Kojima Pearls SOC and ruby earrings! Stunning!

I know! I love my necklace! And I bought a pendant for my sister last year but she didn't like it so I have that too! I haven't worn it yet (she received it for Christmas) so I think I'll try it on a long chain with a turtleneck.

I know! I love my necklace! And I bought a pendant for my sister last year but she didn't like it so I have that too! I haven't worn it yet (she received it for Christmas) so I think I'll try it on a long chain with a turtleneck.

I think you have hit on a good plan there :)

Gold filled is base metal with a plating (bonded by heat and pressure) of gold that makes up 5% by weight. In other words, it's durable-- not at all like gold electroplating.

Last edited:
Well that's interesting. Does anyone know if "rolled gold" is the same as gold filled?

Thank you for the explanation....I'm new to the world of rolled or filled gold. It sounds a little like gold over resin/silicone that some retailers sell. I'd prefer to either have just 14k or sterling in that setting, given the asking price. The earrings are beautiful, for sure...just not sure about the metal.

I understand why you would prefer 14K or sterling silver. Who wouldn't?

That said, gold filled is durable for items that are not worn daily, if one needs to keep costs down. I find gold filled wire and findings perfectly acceptable for bead jewelry I make for myself, when I want yellow metal. Vermeil (gold plated over silver) is also fine. I could use 14K but then I would have to make fewer items. This is just a hobby and my wallet has limits. :rolleyes: But when buying ready-made jewelry, I personally would only buy gold filled if it were a handcrafted piece, as this is a common material used by crafters.