Pearls and Lab Reports

B

Bogus

Hi...
(I'm new to this subject, so sorry if this has been covered before..)

I was looking at a couple of lab reports (one AGTA, the other GIA) and found them a bit lacking in info, especially GIA. Do the pearl pros here agree? Is this a problem? Do you care?

In the GIA report I saw, they only said "natural pearl", and didn't specify whether or not it was salt or fresh water. Is this odd?

And what about enhancements? I found an AGTA rpt that said "no evidence of color enhancement", but the strand in question was multicolored. I saw no comments about enhancement in reports on white-ish pearls.

Can't white-ish, cream colored pears be treated, enhanced too?

And one more question... I saw a couple of reports identifying "natural" freshwater pearls. How do they know this for sure since FWPs don't have beads in them?

Thanks!!
Bogus

Hi Bogus,

Although I agree that the reports should state what type of pearl it is, value-wise it makes not very much difference whether the pearls are saltwater or freshwater with a definite bias in favor of freshwaters as a lot more natural saltwater pearls are being harvested than freshwater ones and freshwater pearls are usually of higher quality.

When the report states that no evidence of color enhancement could be found that should apply equally to white and cream pearls as to fancy color pearls.

Freshwater pearls that occur naturally tend to have a much less pronounced ring pattern than cultured ones because of their lower conchiolin content. One can determine that through sacrificing (cutting random samples in half) and in cat scans. Regular radiology is usually not up to the task. There are some freshwater cultured pearls with beads in them that regular radiology can readily detect. The trend is going toward bead nucleation as that gives big round pearls fast as Kokichi Mikimoto concluded in 1909 when he switched to Mise-Nishikawa.

Zeide

Last edited by a moderator: