Now that I know these are not pearls, does anyone know WHAT they are?

Dianne

Showing my lack of knowledge here, but be kind, I'm a true novice. Getting quite an education here however.
These belonged to my great aunt; a woman who prided herself in owning only quality things. Though there's no clasp, the beads are separated by individual knots, so thought just maybe they were SOME sort of pearl. Now that I know differently, does anyone know if they are anything but glass made to look like pearls? Please?

Attachments

• 130.5Cf.jpg
    130.5Cf.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 23
  • 133.7Cf.jpg
    133.7Cf.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 30
  • 131.15Cf.jpg
    131.15Cf.jpg
    35.2 KB · Views: 24
  • 131.8Cf.jpg
    131.8Cf.jpg
    39 KB · Views: 24
  • 131.1Cf.jpg
    131.1Cf.jpg
    27.2 KB · Views: 31
  • 131.4Cf.jpg
    131.4Cf.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 23
Oooooh, I have some of those! Mine are totally round though. I've never confirmed it, but I think they're genuine shell beads, cut from the Mississippi shells that are harvested to make the nuclei for pearls like South Seas, Akoya and some freshwater pearls. Am I correct so far, Mikeyy? Please correct any mistakes, ok?

By "genuine" I mean they aren't made from pearl dust manufactured into a bead. These shells are cut into strips, then squares of different sizes from the strips, then shaped on a grinding machine.

There's a video on utube that shows the steps. It's great! I don't have access to the title of the video just now. Anybody?

could they be?

could they be?

been jumpin' around the net and came across some fascinating articles about cave pearls and how they're formed. think these may be polished cave pearls? what'd you think?

Don't know if my last post went thru - new to this. Apologize if you're reading this again...........but could these be cave pearls?

Hi Dianne and welcome,